2013 Reliability Program of the Year

by | Aug 29, 2013 | Asset Management, Event, Reliability


One of the events to take place at the September 30-October 4 Emerson Exchange conference in the Dallas/Fort Worth, Texas area, is the Reliability Program of the Year.

Emerson's Augie DiGiovanniEmerson’s Augie DiGiovanni, whom you may recall from earlier reliability-related posts, will lead two sessions, which:

…host 4 customer finalists presentations (2 during each of the 2 sessions) competing for the title of “Reliability Program of the Year”. Each customer will present their Company’s Reliability Program to demonstrate their effective use of reliability based technologies, effective work processes, return on investment, integrated maintenance best practices, and leadership in implementing a “best in class” Reliability program. The customer presentations will be the culmination of competing in an extension reliability program competition against their peers and having successfully been selected to present their best in class programs during these technology forums. A winner will be announced and recognized by Emerson at the conclusion of the Day 2 Technology Forum.

The sessions take place Tuesday, October 1 from 1-2:30pm and again on Wednesday, October 2 at the same time slot. The four companies presenting their reliability program nominations are Tucson Electric Power (USA), REC Silicon (USA), Suncor Energy (Canada), and EDF Energy (United Kingdom). Panelists with Augie for the two sessions include Emerson’s Todd Schools and Chris Armitage.

The Reliability Program of the Year was established in 1989 to recognize the companies who apply the best reliability and maintenance practices worldwide. Companies submitting nominations complete an extensive questionnaire about their reliability program, participate in a one day/no-cost reliability assessment, and present their program to the Program of the Year Board.

Past winners were selected based on criteria ranging from integrating proactive maintenance practices and efficient work processes, executing effective communication including development of KPIs based on reliability, and broadly applying predictive technologies on a wide range of production assets. Past winners come from a broad range of industries and include many names with which you’re likely familiar:

  • Allied Signal
  • E.I. Dupont
  • Duke Power
  • Westinghouse Electric
  • PECO Energy
  • Arizona Public Service
  • Fort James Paper
  • Naval Aviation Depot
  • Swift Denim
  • Mineracao Rio do Norte
  • Cementos Mexicanos
  • Seminole Kraft
  • Jacksonville Electric
  • Sycamore Cogeneration
  • General Motors
  • Boeing Computer Services
  • Carbomedics
  • U.S. Steel
  • Campbell’s Soup
  • El Paso Electric
  • Yallourne Energy
  • National Security Agency

Good luck to the “final four” competing for this year’s award! No matter who wins, all of these companies receive the reward of improved, more reliable operations with less unplanned downtime, more effective maintenance practices, and smoother running processes.

Popular Posts


Related Posts

Follow Us

We invite you to follow us on Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter and YouTube to stay up to date on the latest news, events and innovations that will help you face and solve your toughest challenges.

Do you want to reuse or translate content?

Just post a link to the entry and send us a quick note so we can share your work. Thank you very much.

Our Global Community

Emerson Exchange 365

The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of the authors. Content published here is not read or approved by Emerson before it is posted and does not necessarily represent the views and opinions of Emerson.

PHP Code Snippets Powered By : XYZScripts.com